KANSAS BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Ste. 556S Topeka, KS 66612-1239

 PHONE:
 (785) 296-2162

 FAX:
 (785) 291-3501

 EMAIL:
 ksboa@ks.gov



SUSAN L. SOMERS

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR www.ksboa.org

REGISTRATION AND RENEWAL OF CPA FIRMS TO PRACTICE IN KANSAS

K.S.A 1-308 requires all sole practitioners who issue reports subject to Peer Review, along with any general partnership, limited liability partnership, general corporation, professional corporation or limited liability company with offices in Kansas, to register with the Board and to annually register thereafter. In order for a sole practitioner or firm, who is required to register with the Board to remain in compliance with Kansas law to practice certified public accountancy in this state, K.A.R 74-7-2 requires such annual registration by December 31.

K.S.A. 1-308 allows non-CPA ownership of firms, as long as a simple majority of the firm, in terms of equity and voting rights, belongs to the holders of valid CPA licenses to practice as CPAs in some state. All nonlicensee owners must be of good moral character and must be natural persons actively participating in the business of the firm and must comply with the Rules and Regulations of the Board. The name of the firm may not include the name of an individual who is not a CPA (K.S.A 1-316).

Notification is required to be sent to the Board within one month of the admission or withdrawal of a partner, shareholder or member of registered firms. The Board also requests any address changes of registered firms to be promptly submitted, advising of all permit holders affected by such change.

In addition to filing an Application to Register a CPA Firm, those seeking to incorporate as a CPA firm, or who are seeking a name change, also need to send the Board a copy of the Articles of Incorporation (Organization) that they plan to file with the Kansas Secretary of State. The Secretary of State requires that a "Certificate of Good Standing and Approval of Firm Name" be issued by the Board before they will incorporate a practice.

K.A.R 74-5-406 specifies that for an individual CPA or CPA firm to use the term "& Company", "& Associate" or "Group", there must be at least one other unnamed partner, shareholder, owner, member, or staff accountant holding both a Kansas certificate and a Kansas permit to practice. Use of the plural term "& Associates" must be represented by at least two other unnamed partners, shareholders, owners, members, or staff accountants holding both a Kansas certificate and a Kansas certificate and a Kansas permit to practice. <u>NOTE: If using staff CPA(s) to qualify for the terms "& Associate, & Associates, Group or & Company", in the firm name, the staff CPA(s) must hold both a Kansas certificate and a Kansas permit, work at least 1,040 hours for the firm during a calendar year, and the firm must be their primary employer.</u>

If you have any questions about registering or renewing your CPA firm in Kansas, please contact the Board office and/or refer to the pertinent Board Laws and Regulations.

The fee for registering a firm is \$100.00.

01/18